News Room

UGA to hold expanded year-end recycling event for move-out

Writer/Contact: Carrie Campbell, 706-542-8325, carrie.campbel@uga.edu Dawgs Ditch the Dumpster and Donate to partner with Goodwill of North Georgia Athens, Ga. – The University of Georgia will hold a Dawgs Ditch the Dumpster and Donate event during move-out April 30-May 10 … Continue reading

University of Georgia uses reclaimed materials in field renovation project

Writer: Matt Chambers, 706-583-0913, mattdc@uga.edu Contact: Derek Schuber, 706-542-3605, dschuber@uga.edu Athens, Ga. – In continuing with the University of Georgia’s drive for a more sustainable campus, the UGA Athletic Association has renovated two of the Woodruff Practice Fields using reclaimed materials. … Continue reading

UGA Earth Week 2014 to celebrate green opportunities

Writer: Russel Abad, rabad@uga.edu Contacts: Jennifer Dunlop, 706-542-1301, jdunlop@uga.edu                  Kevin Kirsche, 706-542-1301, kkirsche@uga.edu Athens, Ga. – The University of Georgia will kick off UGA Earth Week 2014 on April 22 with events … Continue reading

Bike repair stations seek to make riding safer

Written by: Michelle Baruchman @mlbaruchman http://www.redandblack.com/uganews/campus/bike-repair-stations-seek-to-make-riding-safer/article_5b5da120-c035-11e3-91d6-001a4bcf6878.html A new initiative launched on campus will allow the University of Georgia community to travel on bicycles more safely and frequently. “I have seen the need for more accessibility for students on campus to … Continue reading

Small retail grocers, improved transit might be key to shrinking ‘food deserts’

Writer: Alan Flurry, 706-542-3331, aflurry@uga.edu Contact: Jerry Shannon, 706-542-1656, jshannon@uga.edu Athens, Ga. – Food deserts—a term used for geographical areas where healthy food is inaccessible or prohibitively expensive—are connected to high rates of obesity and diet-related diseases. A new University … Continue reading

Report finds protecting natural areas makes good fiscal sense

Writer: Beth Gavrilles Contact:J.P. Schmidt Athens, Ga. – Protecting a county’s natural resources and its fiscal health may seem to be competing goals, but a recent University of Georgia study provides a blueprint for achieving both. The paper, which appears in … Continue reading

Researchers find greener way to make blood thinner compound

written by: Jeanette Kazmierczak Around 2 million people a day take blood thinners to prevent blood clots, and one of the most common anticoagulant medications is warfarin. University of Georgia researchers have discovered a greener way to produce 4 hydroxycoumarin, an … Continue reading

University of Georgia installs bicycle repair stations

Writer: Russel Abad, 706-542-1301, rabad@uga.edu Contact: Lance Haynie, 706-542-5060, lhaynie@uga.edu Athens, Ga. – The University of Georgia is making cycling around campus even easier for its growing bike-riding population with several new repair stations. Thanks to funding provided by the … Continue reading

Plantapalooza plant sale to be held April 5 at three Athens locations

Writer/Contact: Connie Cottingham, 706-542-6014, connicot@uga.edu Athens, Ga. – Plantapalooza, a plant sale at three University of Georgia locations, will be held on April 5 from 8 a.m. to 2 p.m. at the State Botanical Garden of Georgia, The Trial Gardens … Continue reading

Wes Jackson, founder and president of The Land Institute, to speak at UGA

Writer: Melissa Gogo Contact: Dorinda Dallmeyer Athens, Ga. – The University of Georgia College of Environment and Design will host a lecture by Wes Jackson, a leader in the international movement for sustainable agriculture, on March 28 at 2 p.m. in the … Continue reading