News Room

UGA cost savings being reinvested in sustainability initiatives

Wednesday, November 19, 2014 Contact: Kevin Kirsche, 706-542-1301, kkirsche@uga.edu Athens, Ga. – The University of Georgia continues to provide sustainability leadership through reinvestment in student engagement and resource conservation initiatives. UGA President Jere W. Morehead has approved a proposal to … Continue reading

UGA researcher developing satellite-mapping tools to measure carbon capture in salt marshes

Writer: Alan Flurry, 706-542-3331, aflurry@uga.edu Contact: Deepak Mishra, 706-542-8927, dmishra@uga.edu Athens, Ga. – Coastal salt marshes are among the most valuable ecosystems in the world, efficient natural mechanisms for carbon sequestration that produce biomass above and below the ground as … Continue reading

Fritjof Capra to discuss ‘systems view of life’ at UGA

Writer: Michelle Fulleda, mfulleda@uga.edu Contact: Brahm Verma, 706-542-4180, bverma@engr.uga.edu Athens, Ga. – Physicist and systems theorist Fritjof Capra will lecture on the “Scientific Understanding of Living Systems and the Systems View of Life” Nov. 13 at 3 p.m. in the … Continue reading

Second annual Bioenergy Day @ UGA to welcome seventh graders

Writer: Terry Marie Hastings, 706-542-5941, thasting@uga.edu Contact: Daniel Geller, 706-583-0876, dgeller@uga.edu Athens, Ga. – More than 400 Athens seventh-graders will experience firsthand how wood and other plant biomass generate energy at the second annual Bioenergy Day @ UGA on Nov. … Continue reading

State incentive program to boost electric vehicle charging infrastructure

Written by:Urvaksh Karkaria Staff Writer-Atlanta Business Chronicle More public electric vehicle chargers are headed to Georgia — which leads the nation in EV adoption. Forty-four electric vehicle charging stations will be installed across Georgia thanks to funding from Charge Georgia, … Continue reading

EPA Awards Research Fellowship Grant to Student at the University of Georgia

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE October 22, 2014 EPA Awards Research Fellowship Grant to Student at the University of Georgia Contact Information: Dawn Harris Young, EPA, (404) 562-8421 (Direct), (404) 562-8400 (Main), harris-young.dawn@epa.gov ATLANTA – Today, the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) … Continue reading

UGA to host water-focused event with documentary screening, book launch Oct. 22

Writer/Contact: Dorinda Dallmeyer, 706 542-0935, dorindad@uga.edu Athens, Ga. – The University of Georgia Press and UGA College of Environment Design are hosting a documentary screening and book launch Oct. 22 at 7:30 p.m. at Ciné. The event will serve as … Continue reading

UGA awarded 2014 Ford College Community Challenge Grant for prescribed grazing

Writer: Ally Hellenga, 770-656-0073, hellenga@uga.edu Contact: Eric MacDonald, 706-542-0118, eamacdon@uga.edu Athens, Ga. – The University of Georgia’s College of Environment and Design, in partnership with the College of Engineering and the Office of Sustainability, will use a grant from the … Continue reading

Going Green: Georgia’s energy production landscape gradually changing

Posted: Friday, October 3, 2014 8:00 am | Updated: 12:00 pm, Fri Oct 3, 2014. Going Green: Georgia’s energy production landscape gradually changing Gabe Cavallaro @gabe_cavallaroRedAndBlack.com | 0 comments Glancing around the state of Georgia, energy use and production might … Continue reading

Nibbelink named director of UGA’s Center for Integrative Conservation Research

Contact:Nate Nibbelink Nik Heynen Nibbelink named director of UGA’s Center for Integrative Conservation Research Heynen named new director of Integrative Conservation Ph.D. Program Athens, Ga. – The University of Georgia’s Center for Integrative Conservation Research has tapped Nate Nibbelink to lead … Continue reading